Searching For You – 100WC

100 WC, Poems, Writing

Photo Credit: The Next Web

 

A pack of wolves we are
hungrily searching
any order lost in our frenzy to find you

Frayed and tattered we are
our minds diseased
by the dangerous lust you radiate

Dying and thirsty we are
our faith in your quenching, gratifying
reality willing us to ignore, continue

Through dense forest we journey
its abundance and intricacy never blinding
but you never materialize

Bloodshot are our eyes
only will they droop
at the assuring presence of you

Come, show us, you must
your occult and rich mystery
lead us to your ‘x marks the spot’

Shall we ever see you
and the maddened violence
of your peace?
or send us on a
greed-driven chase

for you

Olivia, writing on a whim…

15 thoughts on “Searching For You – 100WC

  1. Very, very impressive Olivia! You must be a very talented writer. Unfortunately, your poem is 114 words rather than 104. However, you used very vivid verbs and great adjectives. All in all, great work!

    Like

  2. Hi Olivia,
    This poem is absolutely beautiful, and it actually left me feeling anxious, as though I had been heaved into the chaos of this desperate searching! I have spent what seems like ages, trying to decide on what to write about the aspects I like most about of your piece of writing, whoever, I do not think that I am able to choose only some aspects to compliment of the poem, when I love it so much as a whole. Does that make sense? Sorry I’ve been trying to ensure that that sounds right, but if you don’t understand, I am more than happy to articulate more on my point. What I can I must ask; did you really write this? It is amazing!
    Darcey

    Like

    1. Dear Darcey,
      Thank you so much for your lovely, well thought out comment. I really appreciate it. Yes, I did spend a good half hour writing this poem. ‘thesaurus.com’ is my best friend whilst writing! I truly encourage you to post more of your amazing works on your blog as your writing is beautiful, superb, I always enjoy reading it. The real story behind this poem is our greed for money, wealth and fame. We are constantly prioritising fame, money and wealth and it is destroying us. As I have said in stanza 2, we are diseased. Even though that is my interpretation, I have made it unclear so that people can imagine themselves.
      Thanks again for your encouraging comment!
      Olivia 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi Olivia
    Amazing! I love how laid it out. 🙂 Just out of interest, what do the wolves want? Maybe next time you could describe the terrain a bit more? Still, i love it. Keep up the good work!

    Like

    1. Hi Liv (name twinnies!),
      Thanks for reading my poem. I did keep it very vague, which may not suit some people, to allow room for imaginations to go wild. What did the wolves want? The wolves were a metaphor for us. We are the wolves. Always searching, greedily, diseased by this terrible lust. In my imagination, as I formed this poem, this poem was about money, and our greed for things, wanting more and more and more. Does that make sense? I would love to visit your blog if you could include it!
      Thanks, Liv

      Like

  4. Great Job! I love how you wrote in poem form. Your details really grabs the reader to want to read more. Keep up the great work.

    Like

  5. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the
    video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence on just posting videos to your site when you could be
    giving us something enlightening to read?

    Like

    1. Dear wallpapers.etutsgroup.com,
      Thanks for commenting, I agree, maybe I should write more, but I’m not sure what you mean by ‘I’m relying on the video to make a point’. Which video?
      Thanks, Olivia

      Like

  6. Hi Liv (same name ^-^)
    It makes total sense! Thanks for explaining. I loved the poem and i hope you keep posting. Sorry but I don’t have a blog! 😦
    from Liv

    Like

Comment

