Passion Project – Wk 2

Homework, MyPhotography, Passion Project, Poems, School

Dear Fellow Bloggers,

Week 2 of my Passion Project! This week, we are required to write about the preparation of our term-long project, the skills, resources and materials that will be needed in order to complete a thorough and well planned project.

In case you missed my Week 1 Post, here’s a recap of what I will be doing for my project.

“I wanted to incorporate my passion for writing and poetry with photography. As you can see if you click on the ‘MyPhotography’ / ‘Photo Editing’ categories, I have been taking macro shots with the digital camera and uploading it to my blog. As an addition to this, I have found wonderful inspiration and have discovered poetry photography, or photography which is written about and described using free verse photography. A few of the blogs that have acted as an inspiration to me include: The Ancient Eavesdropper Raindrops, Passion Through Poetry, Nina Joan, The Darkroom Nerd and more… See my blogroll for more.

Long story short, I have decided to do poetry and photography as my passion project. The learning aspect of this is that I will learn how to use an SLR camera and demonstrate these skills by taking photos and experimenting with aperture, shutter speed and ISO. I will then be writing free-verse poetry about these photos and posting it on my blog. For the presentation of the project, these posts will be put in a portfolio and made into a book.”

I have decided to call my project Poetography, as it will incorporate learning how to use an SLR camera and poetry to broaden my perspective of the world and my appreciation of it. Though in order for me to complete this project, I will need to prepare a number of materials, skills and resources. This will be an exciting project to carry out as I have had no experience, in fact, I have never even handled an SLR / DSLR camera of any kind.

cropped-tumblr_lu6jaucm8d1qe49wpo1_500_large.jpg

I need to learn these skills…

  • how to photograph using an SLR camera (no experience)
  • aperture, ISO, shutter speed, depth of field
  • angled shots
  • edit photos
  • sharpen images and use RAW
  • enhance photos and colour

I need these resources / materials…

  • a camera – SLR
  • computer to edit and write poems
  • information sources – to learn about photography
  • photography/poetry blogs to read and be inspired

I will know I have completed my task when…

  • I am able to easily enhance my photos using photo editing
  • Be able to explain clearly what each feature is
  • Be able to incorporate into my photography and explain what I have done
  • Produce quality images with descriptive, thoughtful poetry

An example of one of the Poetograph posts I have done are as follow:

https://wordingonawhim.wordpress.com/2015/05/03/1036/

Olivia, writing (and photographing) on a whim…

5 thoughts on “Passion Project – Wk 2

  1. Hi Livvy,
    Your Passion Project sounds like it’s going to be great!
    So, let me get this straight, you are basically learning how to take photos with a proper camera, and then writing poems relating to the photos that you have taken. Right?
    Can’t wait to see some of your ‘Works of Art’!
    -Sophie
    P.S Love the name – Peotograghy. Whoever could create such an awesome name. Must be an awesome person.
    P.P.S Visit my blog here:
    http://alifeofhappiness.edublogs.org

    Like

    1. Hi Soph,
      Thanks a lot! Your passion project sounds amazing as well! And, yes you are totally correct. That is exactly what I am doing. Keep posted!
      Liv
      P.S I know! What an amazing person, they must be very awesome, and they are!

      Like

    2. Hi Soph,
      Thanks so much! And yes, that is the gist of it! The general skill is photography and learning how to embrace and have an open mind to the wonders of our world. Of course, I love the name Poetography! You should make a business for ‘Project Name Picking’. You’d be great at it!
      Your project sounds amazing!
      Good luck,
      Liv xx

      Like

  2. Hi Olivia,
    It seems like your passion project is off to a great start and like Sophie said, what an awesome name for photography and poetry put together.
    – Vanessa

    Like

Comment

