Canon Fired

Homework, MyPhotography, Passion Project, School

Dear Bloggers,

So this Friday evening, I was fortunate enough to be given a DSLR camera by my Dad! After weeks of wishing, dreaming, hoping for the fulfilling experience of using a manual camera. To listen intently to the ‘flickering heartbeat’ as the shutter snaps another memory. I have been dreaming of that beautifully blurred background and the stark, focused image of the subject.

Finally, at last! I now have a Canon EOS 400D Digital DSLR! Some of the features of this DSLR include:

  • 10.1 megapixels
  • Nine-point auto-focus
  • Continuous shooting burst (up to 27 shots JPEG / 10 shots RAW)
  • 2.5″ LCD monitor
  • 3 settings for long exposure noise reduction
  • Picture styles
  • Built in flash
  • Interchangeable lenses
  • From 1/4000 to 30 sec and bulb shutter speed
  • ISO 100 – 1600
  • Full aperture
  •  Exposure modes – program, shutter-priority, aperture-priority, auto depth-of-field, full auto, programmed modes, manual, autoflash
  • 510g body only
  • CF Card
  • Custom white balance
  • 12 picture modes
  • Good quality images

The lens I am using is a 24-105mm zoom lens. Over the past few days, I have been experimenting with the new features this camera offers. Since this is my first experience with a manual camera, I have been learning and reading about how to extract and gain all I can from it.

In the following post, I will be beginning to explain what I have learned about how to use a manual camera and what I have done to gain the most from each feature.

Olivia, writing (and photographing) on a whim…

4 thoughts on “Canon Fired

  1. My first DSLR was also a Canon EOS 10.1 MP. And it’s still my favorite camera. It has great versatility, power, and you just can’t beat the sound of the shutter. Hope you enjoy, and look forward to seeing the results!

    Like

    1. Yes, after a few days of experimenting and getting to know this powerful camera, I have grown to realise its abilities and versatility. Thank you so much for visiting, you are an amazing photographer.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Olivia,
    I am starting out with photography and I’m finding it hard and very close to impossible at some points it’s great that now I have someone I can trust with tips and tricks!!
    (I use my Mum’s DSLR)
    Miss Anonymous

    Like

    1. Hi ‘Miss Anonymous’ (not so anonymous to me),
      Photography is a beautiful and expressive skill! It does take time and effort, and we can push through it together! Check out my posts for tips and I’ll be following you (as in your posts)!
      What model is the camera?
      Liv xx

      Like

Comment

