First Liebster Award

Liebster Awards, Life, Passion Project, Poems, Writing

Dear Bloggers,

Today, I had the privilege to discover that I have been nominated for a Liebster Award! This is an award that is given from blogger to blogger when a blog is considered interesting – from the nominator seeing potential in a new blog or outstanding posts from an experienced blogger, it’s for everyone to try! Liebster, in German, means – lovely, kind, pleasant, sweet, nice etc.

It is a very encouraging community chain award that really helps with supporting a blog worth recognition or publicly appreciating a blog that seems pretty awesome!

Blogging is a truly amazing aspect of technology that I have become engrossed and weaved into. The wonderful (not only WordPress) community of bloggers that take time to support one another and visit it others for inspiration is beautiful. It is a hobby that is very social and encouraging!

This is really the reason I love blogging so much, because of the social aspect and because of the fact that you can freely share and express your ideas, receiving and seeking support from those who share common interests.

I have dedicated this post to Julia – https://myredpage.wordpress.com – whose blog is full of inspirational posts, thoughts, ideas and beautiful photography.

I truly appreciate her encouraging nomination! Thank you so much! Please do visit her blog!
🙂 Here are the rules:

1. Once you are nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.

2. Include the Liebster award sticker in the post.

3. Nominate 10 other bloggers who you think are worthy of this award. Let them know they have been nominated by commenting on one of their posts.

5. Answer the ten questions asked to you by the person who nominated you.

6. Think of ten questions you would like your nominees to answerLastly, copy these rules in the post.

7. Lastly, copy these rules in the post.

 

🙂 Here are my questions and answers:

1. Why do you blog?

Blogging is a really personal but public activity. I love blogging so much because if is extremely enjoyable, social and has a real sense of community, and allows you to express and preach your ideas, thoughts and opinions.

Blogging is a really personal but public activity. I love blogging so much because if is extremely enjoyable, social and has a real sense of community, and allows you to express and preach your ideas, thoughts and opinions.

Blogging is a really personal but public activity. I love blogging so much because if is extremely enjoyable, social and has a real sense of community, and allows you to express and preach your ideas, thoughts and opinions.

Blogging is a really personal but public activity. I love blogging so much because if is extremely enjoyable, social and has a real sense of community, and allows you to express and preach your ideas, thoughts and opinions.

I blog because I can share what I feel and what is happening in my life whilst always receiving support, encouragement and feedback who have similar interests. Blogging is a particular aspect of the internet that has a genuine sense of community and encouragement. On my blog, I love to share my writing and my photography, whilst also occasionally posting about what has happened in my life!

2. What are the first five words that describe you?

Hmm. I was really stumped on this question, but I decided to ask a couple of close friends what they thought…

Quirky, Passionate, Loyal, Friendly, Logical

3. What is it that you always wanted but never got?

As humans, there is always something we want. The latest gadget, a new car, healthy relationships, peace in society etc. One thing I have always wanted was a little sibling. I adore babies and toddlers and I have always thought, after visiting and playing with friend’s baby brothers and sisters, that having a baby sibling would be amazing, to be able to care for a totally innocent, perfect human being (except for the crying and nappy change)

When playing with other small children (well behaved) I have found that it is fun and wonderful to see them develop and their sheltered, but entirely innocent viewpoint in life. Unfortunately, now it isn’t possible for me to have that opportunity, so I’ll have to wait until I have my own children!

4. Have you ever danced in the rain? Would you?

Physically, yes. Metaphorically, yes! I have always loved the rain and stormy days. I have immense pleasure in the tormenting fist of thunder crashing down on the earth, and hail plummeting down, littering my yard with small, icy balls. When I was younger, I used to pull out my gumboots, throw on my raincoat and venture out into the storm. Puddle jumping in the huge rivers that formed on our tennis court was a favourite past time, and I have always loved getting dirty when helping Dad clear away the leaves that gather over the drains, preventing water drainage.

When I was younger, I used to pull out my gumboots, throw on my raincoat and venture out into the storm. Puddle jumping in the huge rivers that formed on our tennis court was a favourite past time, and I have always loved getting dirty when helping Dad clear away the leaves that gather over the drains, preventing water drainage.

Metaphorically, I have also danced in the rain. Life isn’t tailored to your likes or wants. So when the grass is not always greener, you need to get your hands dirty rather than stay cooped up in eternal warmth. And that’s not me! I love to try new activities, and if I don’t like them, that’s that! In competitions, for example, I am always determined to do my best and push myself to nearly breaking point. I’ve had a few injuries from this trait.

5. What does your perfect pizza look like?

My perfect pizza… My mouth waters at the thought of it!

Anchovies, olives, almost-burnt-broccoli, cheese, tomato base, soft bread, stuffed crust, BBQ meats, crispy bacon, pineapple, pepperoni. It sounds like a lot, but I love it! Deeeeelicious!

6. What was the last picture you took?

Well, since I am an avid photographer, I am constantly photographing life, nature, animals, food… whatever my camera lens can lay it’s focus on. Skimming to the most recent photo I took on my Canon EOS 400D, it seems that a couple of hours ago, I took an angled shot of the book I’m currently reading – Jane Eyre.

7. What is your motto in life?

My motto in life. I have many that I live by, or try to. Here is one that came to mind:Live today as though there is no tomorrow.

Live today as though there is no tomorrow.

8. What is the best book you ever read?

Goodness! I absolutely love books. I am always clutching one in my hand and sneaking a chapter or two during school (don’t worry, mainly when I am not needed like recess, lunch etc.) Whenever I finish a book, I am always listing it on my favourites, the one most recently on my list is The Shadow Girl, John Larkin. An inspirational, true story of a girl who becomes homeless and uses her brains to survive. Quirky, blackly funny, devastating, cruel, epic, inspiring! Read it.

I also adore the Hunger Games trilogy and Divergent. The Book Thief, Pride and Prejudice, Uglies (Pretties and Extras) and many others!

9. What is the simplest thing that makes you smile?

Friendship. I adore my friends, spending hours with them if I can! Their quirky conversations, the caring nature they possess, the way they make me laugh, cry, want to hug them, want to eat them, the way we jokingly make fun of each other, discussing our issues… There are so many aspects of my friends that I love… ❤

10. What is the best compliment you’ve received?

To be honest, I can’t really answer this one! I don’t really know the answer to this one! I was trying to think of something deeper than just – smart, funny, cool, nice, friendly etc. I do recall a wise person telling me something that really got to me – that I could make a difference in this world, that we all can! It’s not really a compliment, more of an encouragement, but still, it has meaning if you think about it…

Now, I have the opportunity of nominating 10 other blogs that I think are worthy of the award:

https://introversioninc.wordpress.com/

http://alifeofhappiness.edublogs.org/

https://reflectionsformysoul.wordpress.com

https://kyrosmagica.wordpress.com

http://chrllrobb.com/

http://mabelkwong.com/

https://udayology.wordpress.com/

https://scrapydo2.wordpress.com

http://treshabarger.com/

https://heleneparish.wordpress.com

Congratulations, Bloggers!

Here are my questions for you:

1. What is your favourite aspect of blogging?

2. What is your best memory that involves photography?

3. What are you passionate about? Why?

4. Are you an introvert or an extrovert?

5. What do you find inspiring?

6. What are 5 words that describe you?

7. What makes you laugh or cry?

8. What is/has been on your bucket list?

9. If it were your last day on earth, what would you do?

10. What is the best book you have ever read?

 

So congratulations! Read the instructions and answer my questions if you accept!

Olivia, writing (and photographing) on a whim…

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “First Liebster Award

  1. Well done Olivia on your award, your blog is wonderful so very deserving. Thank you so much for nominating me Olivia, I’m very happy to accept, looking forward to answering your lovely questions. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well done and congratulations on the award. Thank you for nominating me too. I’ll see how it goes and work out. 🙂

    Like

  3. Thank you for the nomination! I am very flattered and honoured that you thought of me. You are very, very kind 🙂 I love how you explained the word Liebster…I had no idea it was a German word and now I know what it means too!

    Very interesting to read about you. Love your favourite pizza. Very similar to mine, except that I probably would like it without broccoli…don’t get me wrong, I love broccoli just not on pizza!

    Like

    1. You’re very welcome, Mabel! It was a pleasure because you deserved it! Yes, I learnt about the word Liebster from another blog! How interesting? I do love pizza… I normally detest broccoli, however, on pizza, it is delicious! Funny… 🙂
      Thanks,
      Olivia

      Liked by 1 person

Comment

