Passion Project – Wk 4

Homework, MyPhotography, Passion Project, School

Dear Bloggers,

This week I have been experimenting with photographing the flowers my Mum received for Mother’s Day. Using my camera, I was experimenting more with ISO, aperture, exposure times, shutter speed and exposure brightness.

As you can see in the first few photos, I have adjusted the exposure and the aperture to change the effect of the colour saturation and tone. In the first photo, the exposure and aperture was set perfectly to have maximum brightness and good tone.

The second and fourth photos, however, were under exposed and came out too dark. The third photo came out quite yellow, neither under or overexposed, however I was not satisfied with the tone. This is why the first photo is the best.

I was also playing with the exposure brightness. The higher the exposure brightness, the brighter and more exposed this image will look. I changed it to 3 settings below the average to make the photos look less exposed.

Another aspect that I was focusing on this week was, in fact, lens focus (get it?). By turning the lens focus, the image can be more distinct and clearer in certain areas. For example, if I turned the wheel towards the right, subjects closer to the lens would be in focus. If the wheel was turned to the left, objects and landscapes further away from the lens would have been in focus. I often changed the setting to ‘Manual’ for the lens focus, so I could manually choose which object I wanted in focus.

For example, in a few of the photos above of the roses and the ferns, I have alternated between focusing on the rose and focusing on the fern by manually changing the focus. By changing the focus, it also changes what appears clearer in the background and the depth of field.This also sometimes gives a lovely, interesting effect because, if the frontal subjects are blurred and the focus is sorely on an object in the near distance, it can have an interesting effect, such as some of the photos above do.

146

Lastly, I have been looking at perspective (get it?). The angle of the lens and the shot can give different perspectives. For example, in some photographs, I have angled the shot to be bird’s eye view. This gives the perspective of the bird, or of the viewer looking above the subject. I have also incorporated side view, which is one of my favourite angles in photography. The side view I find interesting because the subject is stark and focused from the side with a plain, blurred background that contrasts against the subject.

The perspective of the image can also make the photo look like an illusion. For example, if a person stands near a large building and the photo is shot closer to the person with the building in the background, the person can appear nearly as large as the building, which comes out like an illusion. Same goes for inanimate objects. If a bed of flowers is shot closer to the lens with a larger image in the background, it can appear larger than it truly would be in reality.

Geometric shapes shot at a particular perspective can also make the shapes look like an illusion. See more on this subject here: Perspective

So that’s what I have been doing this week! In the following post, I will be posting my poem and more information of this week’s investigations.

Olivia writing (and photographing) on a whim…

 

 

15 thoughts on “Passion Project – Wk 4

  1. Hi Olivia,
    The photos you have taken look so professional. I am surprised your photos aren’t in a magazine. I have no idea how you can make them so perfect. My favourite photos are the first ones. What type of flowers are they?
    Rachel.

    Like

    1. Hi Rach,
      Thank you so much! I really appreciate the encouragement! I really do think that it is the camera, its features and my passion for photography! Yes, I agree, the first ones are beautiful! I’m not really sure what type they are! I think the purple ones are waratahs… some are roses and others are daisies. I’m not sure about the first ones!
      Liv

      Like

  2. Hi Olivia,
    I think that your passion project idea is wonderful and your photos look amazing. I can’t wait to see how you present your passion project
    Chardi:)

    Like

  3. I love how you explained your experimenting process, Olivia. I’m new to this whole SLR game and your thoughts gave me a few things to think about. Taking close-ups is not my strong but. But you have done that so beautifully. Very interesting underexposed shots – they create a moody feel…sort of like the flowers are drooping or are sad 😀 Amazing work.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I really appreciate your comments! Yes, until recently, I hadn’t even held an SLR camera before! But know I have learnt how to do many things! I’m sure you’ll get the hang of it! 🙂 I do love the underexposed shots as well! I agree, they do create a sort of sad, blue mood! Thanks so much 🙂
      Olivia

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi Olivia,
    I think that your photos are amazing. Have you chosen how you are going to present this? Are you using a book to document all your photos. Great job on the photos! Enjoy your project!
    -Anjali

    Like

  5. Hi Olivia,
    I love how you took photos of flowers and made them lighter and darker. I can’t wait to see your final product. Great job with the photos.
    Have Fun!
    Emily

    Like

  6. Hi Olivia!
    I love, love, loved your photographs! They looked so professional! – apart from the one witch was quite dark! I look forward to reading your next posts and seeing how you go with the IOS lenses. Have you thought about how you are going to present it?
    Have a good afternoon!
    -Elspeth

    Like

    1. Hi Elspeth,
      I love, love, love you comment! It is so lovely! Thank you so much, I do agree with you, the dark ones are underexposed and are classified as ‘mistakes’ and experiments. I look forward to posting! And this coming post, I will be posting about how I will present, so keep posted!
      You too!
      Olivia 🙂

      Like

  7. Hi Olivia!
    I love your blog! I’m amazed by the layout and the features down the side of the page!
    Anyways about the actual post…
    I loved that although we’re all quite far into our projects that you’re still finding out interesting facts and strategies and still inquiring and trying to dig for more information on how to take your photos.
    Can I just suggest that with the photos that you lay them out a little better labelling wise. I loved the way that they were all clumped together, but you put the information before the photos so I had no idea what you were talking about until I had seen the actual photos.
    Loving it Liv!
    Emily

    Like

    1. Hi Emily,
      Thank you so much! I did spend hours customising my blog theme! Yes, I agree that it is very important to gather as much information as I can even at the last stage of the passion project! I am so interested in all the different techniques, skills and aspects of photography, that I have been constantly researching on these subjects! Thanks for you suggestion, I will certainly be thinking about how I structure my post next time!
      Liv 🙂

      Like

  8. Hi Olivia,
    Not only have I been admiring the developments you have made with your camera, but yes, I did ‘get’ your focus and perspective jokes – which certainly made me laugh.
    I am delighted you have found the website I recommended useful. The idea of presenting your beautiful poetry with these stunning photos is a great idea.
    I wonder….have you thought about using any photos with ‘incorrect’ shutter speed, aperture or lighting and writing a poem relating to it? Or writing a poem describing your difficulties, frustrations , moods or learning journey you have travelled (in a poem) and matching these with a selection of photos?
    Just a few thoughts to enhance your finished product….
    Keep ‘writing on a whim’ – Fabulous work 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Mrs W,
      Thank you so much for your comment! I’m so glad you got my jokes… no matter how bad they are! Yes SnapFish has proved helpful! However, as you know I have had a few issues with the amount of photos I have taken! Maybe I’ve been a bit too enthusiastic for SnapFish’s liking! Hmm… the idea of writing poetry about an ‘incorrect’ or undesirable aspect of photography would certainly be very interesting, as well as posting poems about my journey! I will certainly try this. Thank you so much!
      Olivia 🙂

      Like

Comment

