Passion Project Wk 5

Passion Project, Poems, Writing

Dear Bloggers,

So this week, I haven’t been doing a heap of photographing as it has been pouring with rain and, really, I’ve been continually busy! However, I am going to be posting more poems rather than photographs.

I have learned, over the past couple of weeks, that it is vital to practice and to gather motivation and inspiration from others! So I will be posting a few of the inspirational websites that I have come across.

The following blogs are WordPress blogs that, even prior to the beginning of the passion project, I followed and admired. From stunning photography to connecting poetry, these blogs really are the inspiration for my passion!

https://leafandtwig.wordpress.com

http://throughopenlens.com/

http://movingtowardsthelight.com/

http://anntogether.com/

I will also be experimenting with a variety of poem structures. Recently, I have been focusing on ‘free verse’ and writing poems that are entirely unique to me. However, I am intrigued by the many forms of poetry, therefore my eagerness will be served!

Currently, I have been writing with these types of poetry:

– free-verse
a poem rhymed or unrhymed (in my case unrhymed)

– Shakespearean sonnet
a poem with a strict rhyming pattern (whoops!) rhyming pattern – abab, cdcd, efef, gg

However, I would like to try a few of these interesting types of poetry:

– pantoum
A Pantoum is a type of poem with a verse form consisting of three stanzas. It has a set pattern within the poem of repetitive lines.
The pattern in each stanza is where the second and fourth line of each verse is repeated as the first and third of the next. The pattern changes though for the last stanza to the first and third line are the second and fourth of the stanza above (penultimate). The last line is a repeat of the first starting line of the poem and the third line of the first is the second of the last.

– renga poem
Renga, means ‘linked poem’. Poets worked in pairs or small groups, taking turns composing the alternating three-line and two-line stanzas.

– rondeau poem
A Rondeau is a short poem consisting of fifteen lines that have two rhymes throughout. The first few words or phrase from the first line are repeated twice in the poem as a refrain.

– blank verse poem
A blank verse is a poem with no rhyme but does have iambic pentameter. This means it consists of lines of five feet, each foot being iambic, meaning two syllables long, one unstressed followed by a stressed syllable.

– Tyburn
A Tyburn Poem is a six line poetic form where the first four lines consist of just a single two syllabled word each that all rhyme. The last two lines are nine syllables where the fifth to eighth syllables are the words from the first four lines.

– ode
An Ode is a lyric poem, usually addressing a particular person or thing. It originated in Ancient Greece

I’ll keep posting as I experiment with the different types of poetry!

Olivia, writing on a whim…

Comment

