High Speed Photography

MyPhotography, Passion Project

Dear Bloggers / Photographers,

This week, I have been browsing the internet searching for different photography techniques and skills. There are the simple ones, such as ISO, aperture and exposure. And then there are the interesting, experimental techniques, such as infrared photography (specially manufactured camera/lens),  burst zoom photography (more in next post), HDR (underexposed, perfect and overexposed photos of same scene merged – not my thing), perspective (see previous posts), diffraction and starbursts (sort of done).

Slow shutter speed (when I get a tripod!), camera toss (I’d LOVE to try it! maybe soon…), smoke art photography (I’ll try to learn it!), light painting (tried with the moon in earlier post), time-lapse (interesting…) and high speed photography (which I have experimented with in this post!

It worked alright, however I will need to try again once I have a tripod, also, for my birthday, I will be receiving a photography kit that takes the photo when something happens, such as sound trigger, light trigger and more! This will work better as the timing will be more accurate. In the photos below, have a look at the splashes of water and the captures of the lemon falling to certain submersion!

IMG_9278

The lemon, cut!

IMG_9279

IMG_9281

IMG_9255

The lemon, before the inevitable fate of being chopped up and used in a photography experiment. Some examples of bokeh photography as well – light in the background has been blurred, creating bokeh! I took a few shots in different angles of the lemon to create different effects with the bokeh.

IMG_9256

IMG_9257

IMG_9258

IMG_9259

IMG_9260

IMG_9261

IMG_9263

IMG_9276

IMG_9418

Falling…

IMG_9419

Just skimmed the surface of the water…

IMG_9420

Full submersion! A thin wall of water barricading the lemon!

IMG_9285

Floating… rejuvenation!

IMG_9286

Droplets of water on the lens, as well as ripples from the splash!

IMG_9288

Cascading… towards the bowl.

IMG_9289

The imminent fall of a water droplet.

IMG_9291

Peaceful bowl.

IMG_9299

My hand about to release…

IMG_9302

More floating – has the lemon’s flesh tanned?

IMG_9305

SPLASH! Not quite a bellyflop, perfect capture of submersion.

IMG_9306

A zoomed out shot of lemon’s submersion, water droplets sprinkle the air.

IMG_9307

Release…

IMG_9310

The droplet… almost falling!

IMG_9319

Both halves collapsed from the fall…

IMG_9320

Whoops, autofocus focused on my thumb, not the lemons!

IMG_9321

Splash!

IMG_9322

I’m not really sure what autofocus was doing…

IMG_9323

This time it was on the bowl… next time!

IMG_9326

Bokeh water, because… yet again, the focus was wrong…

IMG_9327

Again, on the bowl… the lemon falling!

IMG_9328

Collision.

IMG_9331

Collision / submersion.

IMG_9334

Peace.

IMG_9336

SPLASH!

IMG_9337

Nearly there!

IMG_9342

Just…

IMG_9343

FOCUS!!!! I’m so angry with it! But it did create lovely bokeh!

IMG_9344

That’s better, I love this shot!

IMG_9347

Another pretty good one…

IMG_9348

A fleeting moment captured.

IMG_9349

IMG_9358

I switched to a cup to create a more dynamic / prominent effect from the splash of water.

IMG_9360

The two experimental resources!

IMG_9362

SPLASH!

IMG_9363

The black bowl again…

IMG_9364

The reason I switched from the white bowl to a black one is because the black contrasts against the water, whereas the splash of water is harder to see and less prominent against a white bowl.

IMG_9366

A web of water…

IMG_9382

An overexposed shot, however, the splash of water is pleasing!

IMG_9393

I tried capturing a few shots of a tennis ball thrown into the pool! It creates a lovely rippled effect!

IMG_9396

This one is particularly interesting, the submersion of the ball made a tower of water and some beautiful ripples…

So, those photos were my experiments with high-speed photography. The trick is to set the shutter speed to the fastest the camera can go! My camera goes up to 1/4000, which is the setting I used!

What do you think?

Olivia, writing (and photographing) on a whim…

5 thoughts on “High Speed Photography

  1. Great photography experiments Olivia. I’ve been tagged to do a photography challenge which I’ll be putting up on my blog in about a weeks time. I’m pretty busy at the moment so it won’t be going up until then. It’s a photograph a day challenge plus write a story. poem, etc, to go with it. Would you be interested in being tagged to join in? I have to nominate a blogger a day. I know that you enjoy photography. If you’re interested let me know. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Marje,
      I would absolutely love to join in! I will probably only join in in about a weeks time as well, because school holidays start then! Up until then, I will be very busy! Thanks so much for letting me know!
      Olivia 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comment

