Chapter 6, PART 1- Reality is Real

CYOA, Homework, Writing

Note:  Thank you all for your comments and contribution to bringing this novella together (sort of!). I have thoroughly enjoyed writing Saving Audrey and have found it immensely beneficial as I was motivated to do something productive while on my computer (this can be hard sometimes!). Unfortunately / fortunately, this is my last formal chapter, however, in the next few days, I will be posting an epilogue to wrap up the story. 

The time restrictions have meant that the participants of the CYOA challenge have had to think and plan their stories thoroughly and improvise in terms of elaboration and an uncomplicated resolution. This story would have involved a lot more content without this time restriction, however, I will make do. I do apologise for the abundance of “things” left unexplained… I have left these for you to imagine.

Last week, we experienced the aftermath of Daphne’s death and Audrey seeking help and support on Facebook. Last week’s votes were:

  1. 1
  2. 5
  3. 2

The obvious winner is option b, which entails Audrey continuing her search for support and finding it, with her new friend (suffering a similar reality) taking her to the places where they find happiness and inspiration together. THIS IS PART 1 OF CHAPTER 6. So the readers don’t have too much to read, it will be split into two parts. Please read on…!

! Audrey, you have one new private message!

I hear my mouse produce a hollow click as I snap to the destination my computer is providing me. Controlling, manipulating, seeming to mock the pain I am drowning in. The pain I am aimlessly flailing in, panic and devastation dragging me under a surface of hope. The surface was unbroken, but as I obey Facebook’s command, the tension is broken, a new hope revealed.

dear NinjaGirl654 i saw your avatar on the “click for support” chatroom last night. So useless. i just wanted to tell you that if you need any support, don’t go to that useless bunch of ignorant morons. i checked out your profile, and am so very sorry about all that has happened. a rough couple of weeks, huh. you guys seemed so close. my mum died a month ago, from a bicycle crash. i miss her so much, she was my best and only friend… I know it’s a touchy topic for us both, but i just thought it might help us both if we maybe met up some time, perhaps have a coffee together? let me know what your thoughts are. i understand if you aren’t up to it though. ❤ J best wishes until we (maybe?) meet? p.s im not some weirdo creepy 60 year old dude…!! my name’s Juliette btw, im 14 and go to school at st john baptist college.

From UnlovedKittie

I brush away the tears with frustration, hope, appreciation for this girl who has offered to help me, to kindle a friendship with one another. I feel my lips form a strange shape, happy, as tear collides with them, my fingers placing themselves cautiously on the keyboard so as to reply.

Reply to Unloved Kittie:

You’ve made me smile for the first time in 3 weeks. since I heard her laugh, saw her smile… can we meet at the café on theron street. 11am tomorrow?

My fingers react prior to my mind. I watch as the page informs me that the message has been sent. Stupid. Really stupid decision. Instantly, the inky blue notification box appears on my screen.

Okay, awesome! Meet you there…

From UnlovedKittie

 

Part 2 will arrive soon! Do you think this is the right decision for Audrey to deal with her pain? Will it pay off, or is a disaster to come, a friend or an enemy? Find out in Part 2!

Olivia, expression through the lens (and words)…

6 thoughts on “Chapter 6, PART 1- Reality is Real

  1. Congratulations on the completion of your CYOA story Olivia, you have worked hard to write a thoughtful and creative novella for which you can justifiable feel proud. I do hope that one day you will find the time for part two.

    Mrs Miller

    Like

  2. Hi Liv,
    I captivating and intriguing chapter. I really want to know what happens to this girl when she meets UnlovedKittie… your ability to write and captivate an audience is amazing and I hope to see many more of your stories or books in the future. I hoped you enjoyed the CYOA experience!
    Happy blogging!
    Anjali

    Like

  3. In this day & age, escaping from our problems into the cyber world is tempting and may give some comfort, as you so aptly described. However in the end, life is a gift and must be lived. I look forward to reading the conclusion of your story.
    A beautifully written chapter.
    Karen

    Like

  4. Dear Oliva,
    that was an amazing well thought Chapter.. I like the idea of her meeting a girl who is having pain. I can’t wait for what is going to happen in Part 2..
    I love your writing
    Mia

    Like

  5. Hi Olivia,
    Great chapter (even though is was a bit shorter than normal)!!!
    I wonder what will happen with Juliette and Audrey, I hope they will become friends and help each other with their losses.
    Extremely excited to see Part 2, I love your writing! Will you keep writing stories after you finish Saving Audrey?

    Like

Comment

